CEEA/ACEG 2012 ConferenceOverview

Examining Future Directions for Engineering Education
Winnipeg, Manitoba
June 17, 2012 - June 20, 2012

This year the conference will be held at the University of Manitoba in vibrant Winnipeg, Manitoba – In the Heart of the Continent! The Canadian Engineering Education Association (CEEA) is an organization whose mission is to “enhance the competence and relevance of graduates from Canadian engineering schools through continuous improvement in engineering education and design education.” This third annual CEEA conference continues to build on the previous efforts of the Canadian Design Engineering Network (CDEN) and the Canadian Congress on Engineering Education (C2E2). We strongly encourage the broad community of engineering educators – from faculties of engineering and applied science, arts, science, education to technical colleges, libraries, teaching and learning centres and industry to join us. Relevant student papers are also welcomed.

 

Reflections on 2012 CEEA Conference

U of M hosts 2012 CEEA Conference 

Submitted by Amber
Skrabek on August 8, 2012 – 8:34 pm

The Faculty of Engineering at the University of Manitoba was pleased to have attendees from 33 of the 43 universities that offer CEAB accredited degrees join us in Winnipeg, the heart of the continent, in June 2012 for the 3rd annual CEEA conference.

It was a highly successful event focussed on the Future of Engineering Education. Pre-conference workshops on Health and Safety, sponsored by Minerva Canada, and CEAB Attributes attracted about 80 enthusiastic attendees.

During the conference more than 90 papers were presented in three concurrent sessions. A half day interactive panel that addressed the conference theme (including presentations from Engineers Canada, the Canadian Federation of Engineering Students, the Engineering Industry and the National Council of Deans of Engineering and Applied Science) prompted such a wide range of responses the attendees agreed to extend the session an extra hour! The panel proceedings are in the process of being transcribed and will be placed on the CEEA website under publications.

Two non-technical highlights of this year’s conference were a special evening spent at Lower Fort Garry for some history, food, and entertainment, and a construction tour of the Canadian Museum for Human Rights. CEEA, together with the University of Manitoba and the Institute for the Humanities, also brought in award-winning author, Terry Fallis (Best Laid Plans, The High Road) for a humorous and enlightening talk titled “Where an Engineering Education Can Lead You”.

The Local Arrangements Committee received a great deal of positive feedback on the venue, events, and quality and breadth of presentations. We are now looking forward to the 4th annual CEEA conference at École Polytechnic, June 17 to 20, 2013.

Learn MoreRegistration

Registration is closed

Early bird registration is open until April 26, 2012 CDT

Learn MoreVenue / Accommodations

For information on where the conference is being held and negotiated conference accommodation rates please click the learn more on the top of this section.

Learn MorePapers

All areas of engineering education research and practice are invited to submit papers and workshop proposals. The CEEA-ACEG conferences offer a unique venue for academics and practitioners to discuss recent trends in engineering education and education research. The conference normally includes workshops, plenary sessions and technical sessions.

Learn MoreSchedule

The schedule is provided as an overview and is updated regularly as details are confirmed.

Learn MoreSpeakers

The conference committee looks for speakers to address the CEEA-ACEG Membership with interesting topics that fit into the theme of the conference each year.

Learn MoreSponsors

Sponsorship of the CEEA conference is a great way to promote your company or organization. We provide a variety of sponsorship levels with fantastic benefits for all of our sponsors.

Learn MoreExhibitors

Being an exhibitor of the CEEA conference is a great way to promote your company or organization. We provide space in an area that is near where most of the conference attendees will pass through allowing for good exposure. We also offer fantastic benefits for all of our exhibitors.

Learn MoreContact Us / Committee

A listing of the conference planning committee along with a conference email can be found through the learn more link.

Examining Future Directions for Engineering Education

University of Manitoba

Winnipeg, Manitoba

June 17, 2012 - June 20, 2012

This is a question?

ACEG/CEEA 2012 ConférenceOverview

Examiner les orientations futures de l'éducation en génie
Winnipeg, Manitoba
juin 17, 2012 - juin 20, 2012

Cette année la conférence se tiendra àl'Université du Manitobadans la ville dynamique de Winnipeg (Manitoba) - au coeur du continent ! L'Association canadienne de l'éducation en génie (ACEG) est un organisme dont la mission consiste à «développer les compétences et la pertinence des diplômés des écoles canadiennes de génie par le biais de l'amélioration continue de l'éducation en génie et en conception. » Cette troisième conférence annuelle de l'ACEG continue de s'appuyer sur les efforts antérieurs du Canadian Design Engineering Network (CDEN) et du Canadian Congress on Engineering Education (C2E2). Nous encourageons fortement la vaste communauté des éducateurs en génie - des facultés de sciences appliquées et de génie, des arts, des sciences, de l'éducation, des collèges techniques, des bibliothèques, des centres de l'enseignement et de l'apprentissage, et de l'industrie à se joindre à nous. Les articles des étudiants sont également les bienvenus.

 

Réflexions sur la conférence ACEG 2012

U de M accueille la conférence ACEG 2012 

soumis par Amber
Skrabek le 8 août 2012-20:34

En juin 2012, la faculté de génie de l'Université du Manitoba a été ravie de recevoir à Winnipeg, au coeur du continent, des participants de 33 des 43 universités qui offrent des diplômes agréés par le BCAPG pour la 3ème conférence annuelle de l'ACEG.

Ce fût un événement axé sur l'avenir de l'éducation en génie très réussi. Les ateliers de pré-conférence sur la santé et la sécurité parrainés par Minerva Canada et les qualités BCAPG ont attiré environ 80 participants enthousiastes.

Au cours de la conférence, plus de 90 articles ont été présentés en trois séances simultanées. Un panel interactif d'une demi-journée qui a abordé le thème de la conférence (y compris des présentations par Ingénieurs Canada, la Fédération canadienne des étudiants en génie, l'industrie du génie et le Conseil canadien des doyens d'ingénierie et des sciences appliquées) a tellement suscité un large éventail de réponses que les participants ont convenu de prolonger la session d'une heure ! Le compte-rendu du panel sera transcrit et placé sur le site web de l'ACEG dans la rubrique publications.

Deux faits saillants non-techniques de la conférence de cette année ont été une soirée spéciale au lieu historique, Lower Fort Garry, pour un peu d'histoire, de la nourriture et des divertissements, et une visite du chantier du Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne. L'ACEG, conjointement avec l'Université du Manitoba et de l'Institut pour les sciences humaines, a également invité Terry Fallis, l'auteur lauréat de plusieurs prix littéraires (Best Laid Plans, The High Road), pour un discours drôle et éclairant intitulé "Une éducation en génie peut vous mener loin".

Le comité local des préparatifs a reçu beaucoup de commentaires positifs sur le site, les événements et la qualité et l'ampleur des présentations. Nous attendons maintenant avec impatience la 4èmeconférence annuelle de l'ACEG à l'École polytechnique du 17 au 20 juin 2013.

Pour en savoir plusInscription

La période d'inscription est terminée.

La période d'inscription hâtive s'applique jusqu'au avril 26, 2012 CDT

Pour en savoir plusSite / Hébergement

Pour plus d'informations sur le lieu de la conférence et les tarifs négociés, veuillez cliquer sur le lien en savoir plus en haut de cette section.

Pour en savoir plusArticles

Tous les domaines de la recherche et de la pratique de la formation en génie sont invités à soumettre des communications et des propositions d'ateliers. Les conférences CEEA-ACEG offrent aux universitaires et aux praticiens un lieu unique pour débattre des tendances récentes en matière de formation en génie et de recherche en éducation. La conférence comprend normalement des ateliers, des séances plénières et des séances techniques.

Pour en savoir plusHoraire

Le calendrier est fourni à titre d’aperçu et est mis à jour régulièrement au fur et à mesure que les détails sont confirmés.

Pour en savoir plusConférenciers

Le comité de la conférence recherche des orateurs pour s’adresser aux membres de CEEA-ACEG avec des sujets intéressants qui s’inscrivent dans le thème de la conférence chaque année.

Pour en savoir plusCommanditaires

Le parrainage de la conférence de l'ACEG est un moyen excellent de faire promouvoir votre entreprise ou votre organisation. Nous fournissons une variété de niveaux de parrainage avec des avantages fantastiques pour tous nos sponsors.

Pour en savoir plusExposants

Participer à la conférence CEEA comme exposant est un moyen excellent de promouvoir votre entreprise ou votre organisation. L'espace d'exposition est prévu dans une zone à fort trafic, qui permet une bonne exposition. Nous offrons également des avantages fantastiques à tous nos exposants.

Pour en savoir plusContactez nous / Comité

Vous trouverez une liste des membres du comité de planification de la conférence ainsi qu'un courriel de la conférence via le lien En savoir plus.

Examiner les orientations futures de l'éducation en génie

University of Manitoba

Winnipeg, Manitoba

juin 17, 2012 - juin 20, 2012

This is a question?