CEEA/ACEG 2013 ConferenceRegistration

Registration is closed

Regular Rates

Professional Rate: $620.00
Student Rate: $220.00

Early Bird Rates

Professional Rate: $550.00
Student Rate: $175.00

Workshops

Learn MoreMINERVA Safety

June 17, 2013, 09:00 - 12:00

Engineering is defined as the application of mathematics and natural science principals, were the protection of the public is involved. The public and the profession use a broad definition of public safety, in essence, a life cycle approach to safety. It starts with workplace safety during the manufacture of a product or device. Environmental safety is included, and both apply during all phases of product life: from manufacture through transportation and final installation, and includes maintenance, and ultimate disposal.

The Central principal that links these issues is that of hazard and risk. Hazards need to be identified, assessed, leading to a risk-based decision. Workplace safety hazards need to be assessed, just as environmental hazards, financial hazards, and product misuse hazards need to be assessed. Tools for identifying hazards exist and readily fit into the engineering curriculum, regardless of discipline. We will demonstrate the use of the 7 deviations process for hazard identification, and assessment.

This workshop will introduce professors to these principals. We will demonstrate the freely available e-learning tools that can be added to any curriculum. Minerva has received industry funding, with a dollar for dollar MITACS match, for the development of additional teaching modules, and work has begun on 10 of these. We are interested in identifying faculty who are willing towork on the next 10 modules, as well as those who are interested in beta-testing the in-development modules.

Learn MoreAccreditation 1A

June 17, 2013, 10:00 - 12:00

Learn MoreAccreditation 1B Lassonde Building Room M-2109/M2110

June 17, 2013, 10:00 - 12:00

Lassonde Building Room M-2109/M2110

The objective of this workshop is to provide an opportunity to create
meaningful and measureable indicators for program improvement. Participants are
asked to bring indicators and course materials from their institutions, as you
will have an opportunity to improve and develop indicators for your institution
with colleagues.

Learn MoreAccreditation 2A Lassonde Building Room M-2109/M2110

June 17, 2013, 13:30 - 15:30

Lassonde Building Room M-2109/M2110

This session will examine the parts of an outcome-based curriculum
improvement process and identify the characteristics of a high quality process.
We will also discuss common flaws that can undermine an outcome-based process,
learn how to identify such flaws, and how to correct them. Short case studies
will be used to give participants an opportunity to apply what they are
learning in the workshop. It will include an overview of approaches taken by
some Canadian engineering programs and describe available resources.



Learn MoreAccreditation 2B

June 17, 2013, 13:30 - 15:30

Learn MoreEngineering Leadership - Lassonde Building Room M-2103

June 17, 2013, 13:30 - 17:30

Lassonde Building Room M-2103



Foundations for Leadership in a University Context

A Workshop on Leadership Skills for Academics

Professors face the challenges of leading in the classroom, in the lab, in administrative assignments and, for some, in the chair’s office.  We all develop plans (including lesson plans) that aim to inspire others to action, are challenged by complex situations, make decisions that affect others, and, ultimately, seek to do good work. This workshop will give participants tools to align actions at work with personal values and vision - to bring their authentic selves to their work.  This is recognized as being particularly challenging in an academic environment.   In the chair’s office, leading in the classroom or leading a large research group, the workload demands decisiveness and speedy action all too frequently and provides little time to reflect on the source of our personal power.  With many stakeholders vying for attention and conflicting values and interests we need to understand and appreciate ourselves in order to lead authentically.

The workshop will be highly participatory, providing tools, guidance and time for personal reflection and renewal that will increase your effectiveness at work.

Values

Our values are the foundation for all we do.  At least they should be.  Sometimes it is a real challenge to live and work fully aligned with our values.  Values light our path.

Beliefs

What do we believe about our values?  If one of your values is “excellence in execution” then a belief that follows might be “operational excellence is the key to success.”  Beliefs articulate our values.

Operating Principles

How do we act and be true to our values and beliefs?   Operating principles guide our actions.

Vision

To create a personal vision for the future it is useful to reflect on our personal history.  Then we are grounded in who we are.  Vision creates the horizon.

The workshop will be led by University of Toronto Professor Doug Reeve. Professor Reeve has a wealth of experience as an academic and business leader: chair of an engineering department for ten years; founding director of a multidisciplinary graduate research centre (in pulp and paper) for fourteen years; and for the last three years (founding) director of the Centre for Leadership Education in Engineering.

Learn MoreAccreditation Q&A, discussion and individual consultation

June 17, 2013, 15:30 - 17:00

Additional Options

Icebreaker Ticket

Cost: $20.00

An additional ticket for the Icebreakers on Monday June 17.

Banquet Ticket

Cost: $100.00

An additional ticket to the banquet on Wednesday, June 19.

Companion Program

Cost: $0.00

All meals, icebreaker and banquet not included

Metro Pass

Cost: $25.71

For the ease of transportation of the participants during the conference, a public transport pass valid for four days of unlimited use of buses and of Montreal’s highly efficient metro can be sent to you in advance at your own cost which is $27. This pass includes the use of the “747” shuttle service running between Montreal’s airport and downtown.

Cancellation and Refund Policy

Notification of cancellation must be received by phone, mail, or fax by June 1, 2013 in order to receive a refund of a paid registration fee, less an administration fee of $100 CAD. After June 1, 2013 cancellations will be subject to a processing fee of 50% of the total cost. Registrations may be transferred without an administration fee upon notification by June 10, 2013.

Engineering Leadership

École Polytechnique de Montréal

Montréal, Québec

June 17, 2013 - June 20, 2013

This is a question?

ACEG/CEEA 2013 ConférenceInscription

La période d'inscription est terminée.

Frais réguliers

Frais professionnel: $620.00
Frais étudiant: $220.00

Frais d'inscription hâtive

Frais professionnel: $550.00
Frais étudiant: $175.00

Atelier du dimanche

Pour en savoir plusMINERVA Sécurité

June 17, 2013, 09:00 - 12:00

Le génie est défini comme étant l'application des mathématiques et des principes de sciences naturelles là où la protection du public est en jeu. Le public et la profession définissent la sécurité publique au sens large, essentiellement une approche de cycle de vie de la sécurité. Cela débute avec la sécurité au travail au cours de la fabrication d'un produit ou d'un dispositif. Elle comprend la sécurité environnementale, et les deux s'appliquent pendant toutes les phases de vie du produit : de la fabrication à l'installation finale en passant par le transport et l'entretien jusqu'à l'élimination ultime.

Le principe central qui relie ces questions est celui des dangers et des risques. Les dangers doivent être identifiés, évalués, et conduire à une décision fondée sur les risques. Les dangers en milieu de travail doivent être évalués, tout comme les risques environnementaux, les risques financiers et les risques reliés au mauvais usage des produits. Des outils pour identifier les dangers existent et peuvent aisément s'intégrer dans les programmes d'enseignement en génie, quel que soit le domaine. Nous allons démontrer l'utilisation du processus 7 écarts pour l'identification des dangers et l'évaluation.

Cet atelier introduira les professeurs à ces principes. Nous présenterons les outils d'apprentissage en ligne qui sont disponibles gratuitement et peuvent être incorporés à tout programme d'études. Minerva a reçu du financement de l'industrie, et MITACS versera une somme égale, pour l'élaboration de modules d'enseignement supplémentaires. Les travaux ont commencé sur 10 d'entre eux. Nous sommes à la recherche de professeurs qui seraient intéressés à travailler sur les 10 prochains modules et à tester les modules bêta en cours d'élaboration.

Pour en savoir plusAgrément 1A

June 17, 2013, 10:00 - 12:00

Pour en savoir plusAgrément 1B Bâtiment Lassonde Salle M-2109/M2110

June 17, 2013, 10:00 - 12:00

Bâtiment Lassonde Salle M-2109/M2110

L'objectif de cet atelier est de permettre de créer
des indicateurs significatifs et mesurables pour l'amélioration des programmes.
Nous demandons aux participants d'apporter des indicateurs et du matériel de
cours de leurs établissements. Ils auront l'occasion d'améliorer et de développer
des indicateurs pour leur établissement avec leurs collègues.

Pour en savoir plusAgrément 2A Bâtiment Lassonde Salle M-2109/M2110

June 17, 2013, 13:30 - 15:30

Bâtiment Lassonde Salle M-2109/M2110

Cette séance examinera les éléments d'un processus d'amélioration des programmes
d'études fondé sur les résultats et identifiera les caractéristiques d'un
processus de haute qualité. Nous discuterons aussi des faiblesses courantes qui
risquent de nuire à un processus fondé sur les résultats, comment identifier ces
faiblesses et les corriger. De brèves études de cas seront utilitées pour
permettre aux participants d'appliquer ce qu'ils auront appris au cours de
l'atelier. Cet atelier comprendra aussi un aperçu des approches suivies par
certains programmes canadiens de génie et décrira les ressources disponibles.


Pour en savoir plusAgrément 2B

June 17, 2013, 13:30 - 15:30

Pour en savoir plusLe leadership en génie - Bâtiment Lassonde Salle M-2103

June 17, 2013, 13:30 - 17:30

Bâtiment Lassonde Salle M-2103

?

Les fondements du leadership dans un contexte universitaire

Atelier sur les compétences en leadership pour les universitaires

Les professeurs sont confrontés au défi de mener dans la salle de classe, dans le laboratoire, dans les tâches administratives et, pour certains, dans le bureau du président. Nous élaborons tous des plans (y compris des plans de cours) qui visent à inspirer les autres à l'action. Nous devons composer avec des situations complexes et prendre des décisions qui affectent d'autres personnes. En fin de compte, nous cherchons tous à faire du bon travail. Cet atelier donnera des outils aux participants afin d'aligner leurs actions au travail avec leurs valeurs et leur vision personnelles - d'infuser leur nature véritable dans leur travail. Ceci est reconnu comme étant particulièrement difficile dans le milieu universitaire.  Que ce soit dans le bureau du président, dans la salle de classe ou au sein d'un groupe de recherche, la charge de travail exige fréquemment de l'esprit de décision et de la rapidité d'action et laisse peu de temps pour réfléchir sur la source de notre pouvoir personnel. Avec de nombreux intervenants qui rivalisent pour notre attention et des intérêts et des valeurs contradictoires, nous devons nous comprendre et nous apprécier nous-mêmes afin de mener de façon authentique.

L'atelier sera très interactif et fournira des outils, des conseils et du temps pour faire une réflexion personnelle et pour se renouveler ce qui permettra d'améliorer votre efficacité au travail.

Valeurs

Nos valeurs constituent le fondement de tout ce que nous faisons. Du moins, elles devraient l'être. Parfois, c'est un véritable défi de vivre et de travailler de façon parfaitement conforme à nos valeurs. Nos valeurs illuminent notre chemin.

Convictions

Quelles sont nos convictions à propos de nos valeurs ? Si une de vos valeurs est « l'excellence dans l'exécution » alors une conviction qui en découle peut être que « l'excellence opérationnelle est la clé du succès. »  Nos convictions articulent nos valeurs.

Principes opérationnels

Comment agir et être fidèle à nos valeurs et à nos convictions ?  Les principes opérationnels guident nos actions.

Vision

Afin de créer une vision personnelle de l'avenir, il est utile de réfléchir à notre histoire personnelle. Ensuite, nous sommes recentrés sur qui nous sommes vraiment. La vision crée l'horizon.

L'atelier sera mené par Doug Reeve, professeur à l'Université de Toronto. Professeur Reeve possède une vaste expérience en tant qu'universitaire et chef d'entreprise : Président d'un département de génie pendant dix ans ; directeur fondateur d'un centre de recherche universitaire pluridisciplinaire (en pâtes et papiers) pendant quatorze ans ; et pour les trois dernières années, directeur (fondateur) du "Centre for Leadership Education in Engineering".

Pour en savoir plusAgrément: Questions et réponses, discussion et consultation individuelle

June 17, 2013, 15:30 - 17:00

Options supplémentaires

Billet pour la soirée d'ouverture

Coût: $20.00

Billet supplémentaire pour la soirée d'ouverture du lundi 17 juin.

Billet pour le banquet

Coût: $100.00

Billet supplémentaire pour le banquet du mercredi 19 juin.

Programme pour les accompagnateurs

Coût: $0.00

Tous les repas (sauf la soirée d'ouverture et le banquet)

Passe métro

Coût: $25.71

Pour faciliter le transport des participants pendant la conférence, une passe pour les services de transports en commun valide pour quatre jours de déplacements illimités pour les autobus et le métro très efficace de Montréal peut vous être envoyée d'avance à vos frais au prix de $27. Cette passe comprend le service de navette "747" entre l'aéroport et le centre-ville de Montréal.

Politique d'annulation et de remboursement

Afin de recevoir un remboursement des frais d'inscription payé moins les frais d'administration de $100, vous devez nous faire parvenir une notification d'annulation pas téléphone, par la poste ou par fax avant le 1er juin 2013. Après le 1er juin 2013, les annulations seront sujettes à des frais de traitement équivalents à 50% du coût total. Les inscriptions peuvent être transférées sans frais d'administration sour réception d'une notification avant le 10 juin 2013.

Le leadership en génie

École Polytechnique de Montréal

Montréal, Québec

juin 17, 2013 - juin 20, 2013

This is a question?