CEEA/ACEG 2014 ConferenceRegistration

Registration is closed

Regular Rates

Professional Rate: $605.00
Student Rate: $195.00

Early Bird Rates

Professional Rate: $505.00
Student Rate: $170.00

Workshops

Workshops are provided for all attendees to participate, at an additional charge. The list of workshops will be shown below once they are available. The first workshop is at full price ($ 50.00), registering for multiple workshops entitles you to a discounted rate for all additional workshops ($10.00 each).  Workshops given on Sunday, June 8th will provide lunch for those registered for that day.

Learn MoreWorkshop 1A:EGAD Workshop 1: Using learning outcomes for course and program improvement

June 08, 2014, 13:00 - 15:00

Brian Frank, Jake Kaupp, Susan Mccahan and Peter Wolf

This is an overview of using learning outcomes, and tools like curriculum mapping, course planning tables, and rubrics for data-informed curriculum improvement processes. Participants will work in teams on case studies to plan where, when and how to assess outcomes. Participants will also develop an assessment and development plan for particular indicators, including collecting the data, and how might it be used for program improvement.

Learn MoreWorkshop 1B: Part 1 of 2 - Teaching Engineering Design Philosophy at the Post–Graduate Level

June 08, 2014, 13:00 - 15:00

Ron Britton and Douglas Ruth

This workshop is designed to model a post-graduate course entitled “The Engineering Design Process” which has been taught at the University of Manitoba for about a decade. This workshop will model an abbreviated version of the course in its question-response structure, that focuses on a number of books that address aspects of engineering design. Participants in this workshop will read one book in advance of the workshop, prepare two questions based on this reading, and then participate in a round-table discussion that will address the questions prepared by attendees.

This workshop requires advance preparation and is limited to 12 participants. If you are interested in finding out more about this workshop, or participating in it please email Patricia Sheridan, Workshops coordinator (patricia.sheridan@utoronto.ca) by Friday, May 16th, and she will put you in contact with the workshop facilitators.

Note: This is a two-workshop session and will run for four hours. Only those who have read the text and submitted questions will be allowed to participate.

Learn MoreWorkshop 1C: Engineering Outreach Activities in Canadian Primary and Secondary Schools

June 08, 2014, 13:00 - 15:00

Sean Maw

In many communities across the land, engineers regularly visit primary and secondary school classrooms with outreach activities designed to encourage Canadian youth to consider our profession as a career. Many of the engineers who lead these outreach activities do so without significant collegial interaction and/or professional development for this kind of activity. This workshop will help change that. It will allow those of us who engage in such activities to come together and share our experiences and best practices. Over the course of the workshop, attendees will first be separated by age groups that they work with, and then by the subject matter that they present. We’ll finish, as a plenary group, by talking about general presentation strategies and tactics as well as the nature and identity of the organizations that arrange such outreach activities. We hope that this workshop will serve as a springboard for future outreach sessions at upcoming CEEA conferences.

Learn MoreWorkshop 1D: Creating Inter-subjective Agreement Between Multiple and Multidisciplinary Instructors in Design Assessment

June 08, 2014, 13:00 - 15:00

Jason Foster, Alan Chong, Patricia Kristine Sheridan and Lydia Wilkinson

This workshop will explore strategies for developing a shared vocabulary and shared values around design assessment. Targeted towards instructors of courses that leverage the expertise of staff from a variety of fields and specializations, this workshop will discuss the effectiveness of different methods of creating inter-subjective agreement between course staff, in particular in relation to design quality, design innovation, and design communication. This workshop will take the form of an interactive best-practices session that will discuss how to create assessment modes that encompass all perspectives and provide students with feedback on all components of their work (both technical and non-technical).

Learn MoreWorkshop 1E: Flipped/Inverted Classroom Techniques

June 08, 2014, 13:00 - 15:00

Doug Wagner, Jason Bazylak and David Demontigny

The intention of the proposed workshop is twofold. First to give a practical exposure to participants with an interest in, but little to no experience with the use of the inverted, or flipped classroom technique for the delivery of engineering concepts in a post‐secondary setting. Secondly to give participants with previous experience with inverted classrooms the opportunity to contribute their experience to a common pool of knowledge and to develop a network of like‐minded educators for future consultation and collaboration. The workshop will explore: practical tools for low-cost implementations, designing classroom assignments/experiences based on inverted classrooms, assessment of student learning, and sample videos. We intend to produce a summary and/or proceedings from the workshop to share with the participants after the conference.

Learn MoreWorkshop 2A: EGAD Workshop 2: Leading a program improvement process that does something useful with your data

June 08, 2014, 15:00 - 17:00

Brian Frank, Jake Kaupp, Susan Mccahan, Peter Ostafichuk and Peter Wolf

This workshop is intended for people who are responsible for leading or coordinating a data-informed curriculum improvement process in a department or faculty. It reviews some existing processes at Canadian universities, change management, sustaining initiatives, working with other faculty, and collecting, evaluating, and using data. Participants will work in teams on case studies to interpret data from a fictional university, and make recommendations for curriculum changes. This workshop will also discuss approaches to aggregating, visualizing, and evaluating outcomes data.

Learn MoreWorkshop 2B: Part 2 of 2 - Teaching Engineering Design Philosophy at the Post–Graduate Level

June 08, 2014, 15:00 - 17:00

Ron Britton and Douglas Ruth

This workshop is designed to model a post-graduate course entitled “The Engineering Design Process” which has been taught at the University of Manitoba for about a decade. This workshop will model an abbreviated version of the course in its question-response structure, that focuses on a number of books that address aspects of engineering design. Participants in this workshop will read one book in advance of the workshop, prepare two questions based on this reading, and then participate in a round-table discussion that will address the questions prepared by attendees. This workshop requires advance preparation and is limited to 12 participants. If you are interested in finding out more about this workshop, or participating in it please email Patricia Sheridan, Workshops coordinator (patricia.sheridan@utoronto.ca) by Friday, May 16th, and she will put you in contact with the workshop facilitators. Note: This is a two-workshop session and will run for four hours. Only those who have read the text and submitted questions will be allowed to participate.

Learn MoreWorkshop 2C: Engineering Education: From Passion Killed to Passion Unleashed

June 08, 2014, 15:00 - 17:00

Dave Goldberg - Big Beacon and Engineers Without Borders, Canada

A recent piece in Huffington Post (please link to: http://huff.to/1fMFck5) by Lassonde School of Engineering Dean, Janusz Kozinski, talked about the ways in which engineering education has been a passion killer historically and ways in which that situation might change. This active workshop engages participants to reflect on ways in which engineering education has been a buzz kill and ways in which much of the intrinsic motivation outside the classroom might be brought inside. The workshop begins with a participant-directed inventory of ways in which engineering education has been a passion killer. It continues with several stories of students unleashed, drawing on experiences from Olin College, the Illinois Foundry for Innovation in Engineering Education, and Engineers without Borders, Canada. Participant reflections on passion and intrinsic motivation lead to a deeper reflection on participant experiences, the problem of scalability and how it connects to passion and intrinsic motivation. The workshop concludes with brainstorming and consideration of action takeaways for change back on campus.

Learn MoreWorkshop 2D: Introducing and Teaching Mobile Application Design and Development

June 08, 2014, 15:00 - 17:00

Qusay Mahmoud

The diversity of mobile hardware and software platforms is one of the major challenges in developing applications for smartphones. Such applications are developed on one platform such as Microsoft Windows, Apple Mac OS X, or Linux, and deployed on a totally different platform such as a smartphone or a tablet computer. Integrating mobile application development into computing education can raise the level of excitement and satisfaction among students, however, the variety of mobile platforms and cross-platform development tools available today may lead to confusion and frustration among instructors and students. This workshop will help participants understand the opportunities, challenges, and the different technologies that can be used to develop mobile applications for a variety of platforms, including: iOS, Android, BlackBerry, and Windows Phone Mobile, with a particular focus on using HTML5/JavaScript/CSS and cross-platform development tools to develop highly interactive mobile apps. This workshop will be of particular interest to faculty interested in integrating smartphones and mobile application design and development into their courses.

Learn MoreWorkshop 2E: Building Robust Midterms

June 08, 2014, 15:00 - 17:00

Suzanne Kresta, John Nychka and Ken Cor

We have all written - or worse yet - set - midterms where the students and the professor seem to have been attending different classes. This workshop considers ways of designing midterms that give robust and accurate outcomes assessment using the following elements: i) testing what was taught using an examination blueprint, learning objectives, and cognitive levels, ii) formatting the exam to increase accuracy and reduce grading time, iii) staging cognitive levels in the test questions so that students can self-assess the depth of their learning, and iv) shifting from tests of accuracy and number crunching to tests of critical thinking, understanding and deeper learning. Since students study by doing old exams, well-designed test questions impact many generations of students, and can change the way students learn - so the payback for a well-designed exam produces significant benefits for many years.

Additional Options

Banquet - Attendee Ticket

Cost: $0.00

Select this option if you plan on attending the banquet this year. Attendance is free for those registered for the conference.

Banquet - Guest Ticket

Cost: $50.00

If you are bringing a guest - please purchase a ticket for them.

Ice Breaker - Attendee Ticket

Cost: $0.00

Select this option if you plan on attending the ice breaker this year. Attendance is free for those registered for the conference.

Ice Breaker - Guest Ticket

Cost: $20.00

If you are bringing a guest - please purchase a ticket for them.

Cancellation and Refund Policy

Notification of conference registration cancellation must be received by phone, mail, or fax by May 23, 2014 in order to receive a refund of a paid registration fee, less an administration fee of $100 CAD. After May 23, 2014 cancellations will be subject to a processing fee of 50% of the total cost. Registrations may be transferred without an administration fee upon notification by June 1, 2014.  Memberships will not be refunded.

Join us in Canmore, Alberta for the 2014 5th Annual Conference!

University of Calgary - Schulich School of Engineering

Calgary, Alberta

June 8, 2014 - June 11, 2014

This is a question?

ACEG/CEEA 2014 ConférenceInscription

La période d'inscription est terminée.

Frais réguliers

Frais professionnel: $605.00
Frais étudiant: $195.00

Frais d'inscription hâtive

Frais professionnel: $505.00
Frais étudiant: $170.00

Atelier du dimanche

Tous les participants peuvent assister aux ateliers pour un montant supplémentaire. La liste des ateliers apparaîtra ci-dessous lorsqu'ils seront disponibles. Le coût du premier atelier est de $50. Si vous vous inscrivez à plus d'un atelier, vous bénéficierez d'un taux réduits pour les ateliers subséquents - $10 chacun. Les ateliers auront lieu le dimanche 8 juin et le dîner sera compris pour ceux qui sont inscrits pour cette journée.

Pour en savoir plusAtelier 1A: Atelier EGAD 1: Utiliser les résultats d'apprentissage pour améliorer les cours et les programmes

June 08, 2014, 13:00 - 15:00

Brian Frank, Jake Kaupp, Susan Mccahan et Peter Wolf

Cet atelier est un aperçu de l'utilisation des résultats d'apprentissage et des outils tels que la cartographie d'un programme, les tableaux de planification de cours, et les rubriques pour les processus d'amélioration des programmes de cours validés par des données. Les participants travailleront en équipe sur des études de cas pour planifier où, quand et comment évaluer les résultats. Les participants développeront aussi un plan d'évaluation et de développement pour des indicateurs spécifiques y compris le recueillement des données et comment elles pourraient être utilisées pour améliorer un programme.

Pour en savoir plusAtelier 1B: Enseigner la philosophie de la conception en génie au niveau supérieur

June 08, 2014, 13:00 - 15:00

Ron Britton et Douglas Ruth

Cet atelier est conçu de façon à simuler un cours supérieur intitulé "Le processus de conception en génie" enseigné à l'Université du Manitoba depuis une dizaine d'années. Cet atelier permettra de créer une version abrégée du cours et sa structure question-réponse. Le cours met l'accent sur un certain nombre de livres traitant des aspects de la conception en génie. Les participants de cet atelier liront un livre avant l'atelier, prépareront deux questions fondées sur cette lecture et participeront ensuite à une table ronde qui portera sur les questions préparées par les participants.

Cet atelier requiert une préparation préalable et est limité à 12 participants. Si vous êtes intéressé à en savoir plus au sujet de cet atelier, ou pour y participer, s'il vous plaît contactez Patricia Sheridan, coordonnatrice des ateliers (patricia.sheridan@utoronto.ca) avant vendredi, le 16 mai, et elle vous mettra en contact avec les animateurs de l'atelier.

Remarque : Cet atelier est une séance double et durera quatre heures. Seuls ceux qui auront lu le texte et soumis des questions seront autorisés à participer.

Pour en savoir plusAtelier 1C: Activités de sensibilisation au génie dans les écoles primaires et secondaires canadiennes

June 08, 2014, 13:00 - 15:00

Sean Maw et Anis Haque

Dans plusieurs communautés partout au pays, des ingénieurs visitent régulièrement les classes de niveaux primaire et secondaire pour faire des activités de sensibilisation visant à encourager les jeunes Canadiens à envisager notre profession comme carrière. Plusieurs des ingénieurs qui organisent ces activités de sensibilisation le font presque sans interaction avec les collèges et/ou de perfectionnement professionnel pour ce genre d'activité. Cet atelier aidera à changer cette situation. Il permettra à ceux d'entre nous qui se livrent à ce genre d'activités de se réunir et de partager nos expériences et meilleures pratiques. Au cours de l'atelier, les participants seront tout d'abord séparés selon les groupes d'âge avec lesquels ils travaillent, et ensuite par le sujet qu'ils présentent. Nous terminerons en groupe plénière pour discuter des stratégies générales et des tactiques en matière de présentation ainsi que de la nature et de l'identité des organisations qui organisent ces activités de sensibilisation. Nous espérons que cet atelier servira de tremplin pour les séances de sensibilisation futures lors des prochaines conférences de l'ACEG.

Pour en savoir plusAtelier 1D: Créer un accord transdisciplinaire entre plusieurs instructeurs multidisciplinaires dans l'évaluation de la conception

June 08, 2014, 13:00 - 15:00

Jason Foster, Alan Chong, Patricia Kristine Sheridan et Lydia Wilkinson

Cet atelier explorera les stratégies pour le développement d'un vocabulaire commun et de valeurs communes pour l'évaluation de la conception. Destiné aux instructeurs de cours qui s'appuient sur l'expertise du personnel d'une variété de domaines et de spécialisations, cet atelier examinera l'efficacité des différentes méthodes de création d'accord transdisciplinaire entre les chargés de cours, en particulier en ce qui concerne la qualité, l'innovation et les communications en conception. Cet atelier prendra la forme d'une séance interactive portant sur les meilleures pratiques afin d'examiner les moyens de créer des modes d'évaluation qui englobent toutes les perspectives et offrent aux étudiants des commentaires sur tous les éléments de leur travail (autant techniques que non techniques).

Pour en savoir plusAtelier 1E: Techniques de classe renversées/inversées

June 08, 2014, 13:00 - 15:00

Doug Wagner, Jason Bazylak et David Demontigny

L'objectif de cet atelier est double. Premièrement, il donnera une initiation pratique aux participants ayant un intérêt mais peu ou pas d'expérience avec l'utilisation des techniques de classe renversée ou inversée pour l'enseignement des concepts de génie dans le contexte postsecondaire. Deuxièmement, il donnera aux participants possédant de l'expérience avec des classes inversées l'occasion de contribuer à mettre en commun leurs connaissances et de développer un réseau d'éducateurs aux vues similaires avec qui consulter et collaborer dans l'avenir. L'atelier explorera : des outils pratiques à faible coût d'application, la conceptualisation d'exercices et d'expériences pour la classe basés sur les classes inverses, l'évaluation de l'apprentissage des étudiants et des clips vidéos. Nous avons l'intention de produire un résumé ou compte-rendu de l'atelier pour partager avec les participants après la conférence.

Pour en savoir plusAtelier 2A: Atelier EGAD 2: Mener un processus d'amélioration de programme afin de tirer des informations utiles de vos données

June 08, 2014, 15:00 - 17:00

Brian Frank, Jake Kaupp, Susan Mccahan, Peter Ostafichuk et Peter Wolf

Cet atelier s'adresse aux personnes responsables de mener ou de coordonner un processus d'amélioration des programmes de cours validé par des données dans un département ou une faculté. Il examine certains processus existants dans les universités canadiennes, la gestion du changement, les initiatives de soutien, les collaborations avec d'autres professeurs, et le recueillement, l'évaluation et à l'utilisation de données. Les participants travailleront en équipe sur des études de cas pour interpréter les données d'une université fictive et formuler des recommandations pour des changements aux programmes. Cet atelier discutera également des approches pour l'agrégation, la visualisation et l'évaluation des données sur les résultats.

Pour en savoir plusAtelier 2B: Enseigner la philosophie de la conception en génie au niveau supérieur

June 08, 2014, 15:00 - 17:00

Ron Britton et Douglas Ruth

Cet atelier est conçu de façon à simuler un cours supérieur intitulé "Le processus de conception en génie" enseigné à l'Université du Manitoba depuis une dizaine d'années. Cet atelier permettra de créer une version abrégée du cours et sa structure question-réponse. Le cours met l'accent sur un certain nombre de livres traitant des aspects de la conception en génie. Les participants de cet atelier liront un livre avant l'atelier, prépareront deux questions fondées sur cette lecture et participeront ensuite à une table ronde qui portera sur les questions préparées par les participants. Cet atelier requiert une préparation préalable et est limité à 12 participants. Si vous êtes intéressé à en savoir plus au sujet de cet atelier, ou pour y participer, s'il vous plaît contactez Patricia Sheridan, coordonnatrice des ateliers (patricia.sheridan@utoronto.ca) avant vendredi, le 16 mai, et elle vous mettra en contact avec les animateurs de l'atelier. Remarque : Cet atelier est une séance double et durera quatre heures. Seuls ceux qui auront lu le texte et soumis des questions seront autorisés à participer.

Pour en savoir plusAtelier 2C: Éducation en génie : Déchaîner la passion

June 08, 2014, 15:00 - 17:00

Grand phare (Big Beacon) et Ingénieurs sans frontières, Canada

Un article récent dans le Huffington Post (s'il vous plaît, voir le lien : http://huff.to/1fMFck5) par Janusz Kozinski, doyen de Lassonde School of Engineering, parle des façons dont l'éducation en génie a été un tueur de passion historiquement et les manières par lesquelles cette situation pourrait changer. Cet atelier actif engage les participants à réfléchir aux raisons qui rendent de l'éducation en génie déprimante et des façons par lesquelles la motivation intrinsèque en dehors de la salle de classe pourrait être amenée dans la classe. L'atelier commence par un inventaire guidé par les participants des façons par lesquelles l'éducation en génie tue la passion. Il se poursuit avec plusieurs anecdotes d'étudiants qui se sont épanouis tirées des expériences de Olin College, Illinois Foundry for Innovation in Engineering Education et d'Ingénieurs sans frontières, Canada. Les réflexions des participants sur la passion et la motivation intrinsèque mènent à une réflexion plus profonde sur les expériences de participants, le problème de l'évolutivité et comment ce problème est lié à la passion et la motivation intrinsèque. L'atelier se termine par un exercice de remue-méninges pour relever les points d'action à considérer pour effectuer des changements de retour sur le campus.

Pour en savoir plusAtelier 2D: Introduire et enseigner la conception et le développement d'applications mobiles

June 08, 2014, 15:00 - 17:00

Qusay Mahmoud

La diversité des plateformes et des logiciels mobiles est l'un des défis majeurs dans le développement d'applications pour les téléphones intelligents (smartphones). Ces applications sont développées sur une plate-forme tels que Microsoft Windows, Apple Mac OS X ou Linux et déployées sur une plateforme complètement différente telle qu'un téléphone intelligent ou un ordinateur tablette. Intégrer le développement d'applications mobiles dans l'enseignement de l'informatique peut rehausser le degré d'enthousiasme et de satisfaction des étudiants, cependant, la variété de plates-formes mobiles et des outils de développement multi-plateforme qui sont maintenant disponibles peuvent créer la confusion et la frustration parmi les instructeurs et les étudiants. Cet atelier aidera les participants à comprendre les opportunités, les défis et les différentes technologies qui peuvent être utilisés pour développer des applications mobiles pour diverses plates-formes, y compris : iOS, Android, BlackBerry et Windows Phone Mobile, et en particulier l'utilisation de HTML5/JavaScript/CSS et des outils de développement multi-plateforme pour développer des applications mobiles fortement interactives. Cet atelier sera d'un intérêt particulier pour les professeurs intéressés à intégrer la conception et le développement d'applications mobiles dans leurs cours.

Pour en savoir plusAtelier 2E: Construire des examens de mi-session robustes

June 08, 2014, 15:00 - 17:00

Suzanne Kresta, John Nychka et Ken Cor

Nous avons tous écrit - ou pire encore - fait passer - des examens de mi-session où les étudiants et le professeur semblent avoir suivi des cours différents. Cet atelier considère les façons de concevoir des examens qui procurent une évaluation des résultats robuste et précise à l'aide des éléments suivants: i) la vérification ce qui a été enseigné à l'aide d'un plan détaillé de l'examen, les objectifs d'apprentissage, et les niveaux cognitifs, ii) le format de l'examen de façon à augmenter la précision et à réduire le temps de correction, iii) l'établissement des niveaux cognitifs dans les questions de l'examen afin que les étudiants puissent évaluer eux-mêmes la profondeur de leur apprentissage, et iv) la transition d'examens qui évaluent l'exactitude et les calculs à ceux qui testent l'esprit critique, la compréhension et l'apprentissage approfondi des concepts. Puisque les étudiants étudient en se pratiquant avec de vieux examens, des questions d'examen bien conçues peuvent avoir un impact sur de nombreuses générations d'étudiants et peuvent changer la façon dont les étudiants apprennent - donc le bénéfice d'un examen bien conçu peut produire des avantages considérables pendant de nombreuses années.

Options supplémentaires

Banquet - Billet de participant

Coût: $0.00

Choisissez cette option si vous prévoyez assister au banquet cette année. L'admission est gratuite pour ceux qui sont inscrits à la conférence.

Banquet - Billet d'invité

Coût: $50.00

Si vous êtes accompagné, veuillez acheter un billet pour votre invité.

Soirée d'ouverture - Billet de participant

Coût: $0.00

Choisissez cette option si vous prévoyez assister à la soirée d'ouverture cette année. L'admission est gratuite pour ceux qui sont inscrits à la conférence.

Soirée d'ouverture - Billet d'invité

Coût: $20.00

Si vous êtes accompagné, veuillez acheter un billet pour votre invité.

Politique d'annulation et de remboursement

Afin de recevoir un remboursement des frais d'inscription payé moins les frais d'administration de $100, vous devez nous faire parvenir une notification d'annulation pas téléphone, par la poste ou par fax avant le 23 mai 2014. Après le 23 mai 2014 , les annulations seront sujettes à des frais de traitement équivalents à 50% du coût total. Les inscriptions peuvent être transférées sans frais d'administration sous réception d'une notification avant le 1 juin 2014.

Soyez des nôtres à Canmore en Alberta pour la cinquième conférence annuelle en 2014!

University of Calgary - Schulich School of Engineering

Calgary, Alberta

juin 8, 2014 - juin 11, 2014

This is a question?